Saturday, February 25, 2017

Rotary Club of the Bridgewaters Founders Nite & Rotarian of the Year

President Akee Parwaz of the Rotary Club of the Bridgewaters announced today that the club is hosting its first annual “Founders Nite” on Saturday, April 1st at 6pm at the Commercial Club of East Bridgewater. In addition to honoring the 25 founders of the club in 1970, the event will recognize the past presidents of the club and others who have made significant contributions to the club’s success. The club, covering Bridgewater, East Bridgewater and West Bridgewater, was sponsored by the Rotary Club of Weymouth and was chartered by Rotary International on May 27, 1970.

As part Founders Nite the Rotary club will be naming its Rotarian of the Year, past club president Bruce Marquis, who is the owner of Salon Esprit in East Bridgewater. Bruce has been a Rotarian since 1974 and a member of the Bridgewaters club since 1998. Previous recipients of the Rotarian of the Year designation are: in 2013 the late Russell E. Ball and the late Robin “Red” Brittain; in 2014 past Rotary district governor Eldon “Terry” Humfryes and Dr. Edward J. Meaney; and in 2015 Beth Roll Smith.

Previous presidents of the club include: Edmund Godin, Basil Warren, Albert Greiner, Donn Burgess, Robin Brittain, Stanley Kravitz, Andrew Valvolotis, Robert Capen, Paul Lehtola, Russell Ball, John Rogers, V. James DiNardo, Eldon Humfryes, Edward Meaney, Michael Ward, Peter Tsafares, Robert McHale, G. Lawson Clark, Kenneth Bjorklund, John Swistak, Thomas Banks, Thomas McBride, Diane Pacheco, Robert Preston, Thomas Warren, Steven Kelly, Frances Jeffries, Beth Roll Smith, Bruce Marquis, Patricia Lee, Thomas Kazanowski, Kevin Inkley, Kevin Burley, Janet Dye and James Alfieri.

For tickets to the event and/or advertising and sponsorship opportunities contact Tom Kazanowski, event chair and Master of Ceremonies at   
phone:  781.837.0209   email:

Founders Nite will include a cocktail reception at 6pm, buffet Italian dinner, raffles, and auctions, as well as special recognition for the club founders, past presidents, the Rotarian of the Year and others.

No comments:

Post a Comment